Aug 19 - 12th Annual Oren Covert Memorial Race a Success


12th Annual Oren Covert Memorial Race a Success


8-17-13 MAYETTA, KS:   Thanks to Mother Nature, the Oren Covert Memorial race was rescheduled earlier this year for Saturday August 17th.  It couldn’t have been a more perfect night, as the number 17 was always displayed proudly on the side of Oren’s race cars and the weather was fantastic. The Conkwright family once again had Thunder Hill Speedway in prime shape with a smooth and fast racing surface. During Intermission, those in attendance that wore their Oren Covert Memorial T-shirts, were treated to a group picture and entered into a drawing. Four honorary A-feature trophy presenters along with five honorary A-feature race starters were chosen. A huge THANKS to the Covert family, Bill Buttrick and Milestone Marketing for providing extra funds to several of our feature winners and Advanced Auto Parts for the awesome toolbox trophy presented to the BSB Manufacturing Modified winner.


The Casey’s General Store IMCA Sport Compact division was again the first A-feature event of the evening. The Ziegler sisters made their return to Thunder Hill Speedway known in a big way. Morgan Ziegler started this race on the front row outside and never looked back. She was chased throughout the race by her sister Danie, but would not give up the lead. At the checker, Morgan Ziegler made her first visit to the Pit Pass Liquors Victory Lane, followed by Danie Ziegler, Dan Canady, Brandon Lobdell and Wade Heller.


One of the best races of the night was the Kansas National Guard IMCA Hobby Stocks. Kelly Pihl started   fourth row outside and methodically raced his way to the front. Nicholas Ronnebaum, who started at the back of the feature after a first lap pit stop, flexed his racing muscles as he maneuvered through the pack. Kelly Pihl gets the win and proudly stands in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane, followed by hard charger, Nicholas Ronnebaum.  Bill McConnaughy, Brian Stich and Joshua Adkins finished out the top five.


The Belleville Motor Sports IMCA Northern Sportmod division raced four and five wide throughout the feature event. Rick Dreasher won the B-feature, and transferred to the A-feature of the evening. Twenty- four cars started the A-feature with Luke Stallbaumer starting in the sixth row inside. When the race came to a close, it is Luke Stallbaumer getting the trophy in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane. Bryan Rigsby, Curtis Dreasher, Kyle Olberding and Eddie Schwope III finished out the top five.


The Heinen Repair Service IMCA Stock Cars continuously provide fans with some great on track racing action.  Christine Brown, who had her first top four finish in this division, is one of twelve female drivers out of nine hundred and seventy five licensed IMCA Stock Car drivers. Mike Nichols gets accredited with win number 302 in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane with a hard charging Marvin Griffith Jr. in second. Brian Labonte, Christine Brown and Justin Merriman finished out the top five.


The BSB Manufacturing IMCA Modifieds had the fans in attendance on their feet as usual. Brent Alverson and Derrick Brown were early leaders in this race but succumbed to mechanical difficulties. This opened the door for Jordan Grabouski, who took the checkered flag and the Trophy Toolbox. Danny Holt, who returned after having motor issues several weekends ago, ran a very solid second place.  Cory Lagroon, Jesse Richter and Tom Charles finish out the top five.


Racing resumes Saturday night, August 24th with the NCRA Late Models returning to Thunder Hill Speedway. The Xtreme Motorsports Clash on the Hill will also feature the IMCA Modifieds, Stock Cars, Northern Sportmods and Hobby Stocks. IMCA Sport Compacts will have the week off. Join us and remember to bring a friend and a cooler!!! It’s going to be a great show! Friend Thunder Hill Speedway on Facebook or find us at www.racethunderhillspeedway.com .


Bill Grit