9-21 -13 MAYETTA, KS - When Mike Conkwright and staff arrived at Thunder Hill Speedway early Saturday morning the major concern was the condition of the racing service. The track had received about three inches of rain Thursday evening and wasn’t in the best of shape. With hard work and determination the crew had the speedway in exceptional shape by race time.  This work ethic is what has firmly positioned Thunder Hill Speedway as the premier dirt track racing facility in the area. Saturday’s events would provide for the best racing action around. Once again Thunder Hill Speedway would provide multiple lines of racing in all classes competing throughout the evening.


Next week will bring the chase for points to an end, as the 2013 Champions will be crowned in all five divisions. The question is, “Who will it be?” A tie between Justin Becker and Allen Halderman, with Tom Charles only 2 points out in the BSB Mfg. Modified division, Mike Nichols and Matt Haid separated by 8 points in the Heinen Repair Service Stock Cars, and Kyle Olberding and Bryan Rigsby separated by a mere 4 points in the Belleville Motorsports Northern Sportmods? Brian Stich, in the Kansas National Guard Hobby Stocks division, and Wade Heller in the Casey’s General Store Sport Compact division, are both holding comfortable leads in the chase.  Thunder on the Hill’s two day show on Oct 18th and 19th will be the final show of the year.


The Casey’s General Store IMCA Sport Compact series is always the first feature to race at Thunder Hill Speedway. Wade Heller started last row outside and quickly set his sights on the front of the field. Along the way, he had to out race Brandon Lodbell, Dan Canady and Austin Umscheid. This entry level division brings door to door racing throughout the field and is always fun to watch. At the checkered flag it was Wade Heller in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane, after some donuts on the front stretch in reverse, followed by Brandon Lobdell, who had to finish in top four to seal the IMCA State Championship in this division.  Austin Umscheid, Alex Boyden and Morgan Ziegler rounded out the top five. Wade Heller sits atop the point’s race, followed by Dan Canady twenty four points behind the leader, and Alex Boyden twenty seven points back.


The Kansas National Guard IMCA Hobby Stocks had some new faces show up to try to tame Thunder Hill Speedway. This division provided some heart stopping action as Patrick Thyfault gets collected on the backstretch and tumbles over landing back on his tires. After a thorough assessment by the ambulance and safety crew, Patrick is ok and racing resumes. Brian Stich set sail for the win and never looked back. The race for second place between Kelly Pihl, Tyler Garst, Rusty Walters and Nick Linblad entertained the fans as these four would swap positions several times. At the checkered flag, it would be Brian Stich victoriously standing in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane, with Tyler Garst’s best finish of the year in second. Rusty Walters, Kelly Pihl, Nick Linblad rounded out the top five. The chase for points has Brian Stich out front, followed by Kelly Pihl and Nicholas Ronnebaum.  


The Belleville Motor Sports IMCA Northern Sportmod division put on one of their best races of the season. As this one goes to the green flag, the points at the top are tied between Bryan Rigsby and Kyle Olberding. Kyle will roll to the start of the race from the fourth row inside with Rigsby starting from the eleventh row inside. Rigsby used every inch of Thunder Hill Speedways racetrack to his advantage. A caution would bunch the field back together, but out front it was all Kyle Olberding. As the checker falls on this race, Kyle Olberding stands proudly in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane, followed by Rick Dreasher, Curtis Dreasher, Shawn Harker and Bryan Rigsby. The chase for points now has Olberding out front, with Rigsby only four points behind him. Adam Patch is in third, finishing the year out with the Rich Boyden machine after an incident with his car earlier in September. Tune in next week for the finish, as this one also will go down to the wire!


If you missed the Heinen Repair Service IMCA Stock Cars race, you unfortunately missed the best race of the season. Mike Nichols starts the race from the fourth row inside with Lance Borgman to his right. This race goes all the way from the drop of the green flag, to the checkered flag, caution free. Nichols and Borgman set their sights on the front of the field. A resurging Marvin Griffith Jr. and Matt Haid weren’t having it. They would all take their turn at the point, racing lap after lap three and four wide. In the end, Nichols and Borgman came out of turn four racing side by side to the checker. Nichols takes the win by mere inches! Lance Borgman, Marvin Griffith Jr., Matt Haid and Brian Labonte finished out the field. The point’s race is tighter than ever with Nichols a mere eight points ahead of Matt Haid. Can Matt Haid make a run at Mike Nichols? Find out this Saturday as we will crown the champion.  


The BSB Manufacturing IMCA Modified feature was action packed, as twenty-one extremely tough competitors took the green flag. Justin Becker started this race from the fifth row outside, with Allen Halderman to his left. Becker had some serious problems with his race car after his heat race and rushed to get it repaired. Fellow competitors, Tom Charles and the Xtreme Motorsports Team, loaned Becker parts to get him out on the track. Becker raced his way to the front of the pack and found himself at the halfway point in the lead. An untimely caution flies and bunches the entire field with the Delaware double-file restart. Becker holds them off on the start and begins counting down the laps. As Becker races out of turn four to the checkered flag, Tom Charles sees an opportunity and looks to Becker’s inside. Charles doesn’t make it off the corner quick enough as the final checkered flag of the evening flies. Justin Becker picks up his first feature win of the season and stands proudly with his family in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane. Tom Charles finished second, followed by Mike Petersilie, Kurt Johnston and Allen Halderman. The points chase in this division finds Allen Halderman and Justin Becker tied for first place, with Tom Charles only two points behind them. That’s right; the top three are only separated by a two point spread! Make the trip to Thunder Hill Speedway this Saturday evening to find out who will be crowned.


Racing resumes Saturday, September 28th for Championship Night at the Xtreme Motorsports Clash on the Hill. All five IMCA classes will race to put on the best Saturday night racing show in Northeast Kansas.    Join us, and bring a friend and a cooler!!!  Friend Thunder Hill Speedway on Facebook or find us at www.racethunderhillspeedway.com .


Bill Grit