Solid Night Of Racing In All Classes At Thunder Hill

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share Button

heinenstocks62114 (1) Mayetta, KS (06/21/2014) – Abbott Workholdings Night at the Races blew the Lucas Oil MLRA Latemodels into Thunder Hill Speedway on Saturday night and in doing so a large crowd gathered. The crowd got to see just how exciting the racing has been in 2014 at Thunder Hill in their 3 weekly classes that ran on Saturday night.

Jordan Grabouski logged his 4th straight win at Thunder Hill on Saturday night in the BSB Mfg. IMCA Modified division. It wasn’t as easy as it might have seemed though. Grabouski started 7th and worked his way to the front quickly, but Jeff Jones and Danny Holt were also working their way to the front. Jones started 11th in the feature and Holt started 19th. Each driver was quietly working his way to the front. Late in the race a few yellows would give the two the break they needed to run up on Grabouski. Jones would have the best shot as he pulled up to Grabo’s back bumper in the final corner and just couldn’t muster enough momentum to get by Grabouski. He would take home his 4th win of the season. In post-race tech, Jeff Jones would be disqualified and Danny Holt would take over the 2nd spot in the finish, moving from 10th to 3rd in the A Main was Randy Wilson, Tom Charles scored a 4th place finish and it was Allen Halderman rounding out the top 5.

The Heinen Repair Service IMCA Stock Car Feature showed the fans a high car count on the season of 17 and a solid, first time, performance from Jason Wilkinson. Wilkinson would take home the win after starting 10th. Marvin Griffith Jr. would take the early lead, but the momentum rode with Wilkinson on the night. He put his car to the high side and drove around Griffith and went on to the win. It was his 1st win and visit of the season to Thunder Hill Speedway’s Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane. Finishing the top five were Greg Deters, Marvin Griffith Jr., Matt Haid and Dustin Newlin.

Dusty Leonard became the first repeat winner in the Belleville Motor Sports IMCA Northern SportMod division. Leonard blasted to the front of the field and had a strong battle with the runner-up, Jeremy Pittsenbarger, before finally taking the win and landing in the Pit Pass Liquor Victory Lane. The race was highlighted by the close racing from the entire field of competitors, as they crossed the checkered with Jeremy Pittsenbarger in 2nd, followed closely by Mark Hunzinger, Aaron Hilderman and Curtis Dreasher.

The Lucas Oil MLRA Late Model put their brand of racing on display in the final feature of the night. Terry Phillips, a perennial front runner, would wire the field in the 40 lap A main. Phillips would earn $3,000 for the win. Jeremy Payne came home in 2nd with Jason Krohn finishing a close 3rd.

Racing resumes next Saturday night, June 28th, for Reed Company Night at the Races. All five weekly IMCA classes will be returning to Thunder Hill to provide fans with some action packed racing. Bring a Friend!  For more information check them out on the web at

Larry Lowery, Jr.













Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonYouTube Icon
PHP Code Snippets Powered By :